Pumpkin Spice And Everything Nice

I miss the fall. And all the leaves that change. Oh and the pumpkins. How I miss the pumpkins! What is not to love about pumpkins. For as far as I can remember the biggest excitement after my birthday was pumpkin season.

Honestly, one of the things I miss the most is pumpkin patches. Going and choosing my pumpkin was always so much fun. I feel bad that my kids don’t get to experience that. I can’t wait to take them, plop them on a giant pumpkin and take a picture. But thats life, never everything all at once. Every place has its gems. So next best thing is pumpkin in a muffin and pretend you went.

My sister is visiting me this fall, which never happens, usually we are always together in the summer or the winter breaks, but this year it worked out that she spends the fall with me, she is here for my birthday, but she’s missing pumpkin season back home and must suffer with me. She’s been craving anything pumpkin. So thought I’d surprise her with pumpkin muffins for breakfast since Mr.Noz gave her such a hard time the night before ( my cutie pie new nephew)

PUMPKIN SPICE MUFFINS
Makes 8-10 Jumbo Muffins

3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups canned pumpkin
1/2 cup water
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. cloves

In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine sugar, melted butter, eggs, pumpkin and water. Beat for 90 seconds, or until well mixed.

Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices, stirring until no streaks remain.

Combine flour mixture and pumpkin mixture. Stir in nuts and raisins; stirring only until all ingredients are mixed.

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until muffins tops spring back when lightly touched.

Brush tops of muffins with melted butter while still warm and sprinkle lightly with sugar.

20121010-223852.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Xed says:

    Pumpkins and apples; seriously peas in a pod 🙂

    1. Seriously. Your my person!

Leave a Reply

