Oh for the love of Pumpkins!

Well being that its the fall season and all, time for Pumpkin Pancakes. I truly don’t feel its fall without my pumpkin cravings. Not that Cairo really has a fall season, we jump straight from scorching hot summer to bitter cold desert winter. There’s no leaves that change. No crisp air… No fall! It’s bad enough for 8 years I haven’t been able to find a round pumpkin to carve. They do have pumpkins here in Cairo, but there is something different about them, they are a oval shape, elongated, not at all like the traditional pumpkins in North America. But they taste just as good as any pumpkin!

This morning my sister urged me to make Pumpkin Pancakes. I couldn’t agree with her more, they sounded so delicious. So I found my bowl and my wisk and created a wonderful fall breakfast. All that it was missing was real maple syrup. But it was delicious! I can’t wait to make them again.

Pumpkin Pancakes

3 1/4 cups flour
3/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
2 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. ginger
4 Tbsp. brown sugar
4 Tbsp. sugar
16 oz pure pumpkin or canned pumpkin
3 cups milk
3 eggs

Directions:
1. In a large bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and brown sugar, combining well.
2. Add pumpkin, milk, and eggs to dry ingredients and mix gently.
3. Heat griddle to medium heat and grease lightly.
4. Scoop about 1/3 cup of batter onto griddle and let cook until lightly browned and flip 🙂

20121024-154505.jpg

Leave a Reply

